Search F News...

F Newsmagazine wins the 2009 Pacemaker!

By Uncategorized

coverF Newsmagazine won the Pacemaker Award for 2009, given by the Associated Collegiate Press. Our cartoonists also won the awards for editorial cartoons, co-sponsored by Universal Press Syndicate–Alexandra Westrich won the first place award and Eric Garcia the second place award (Eric had won first place last year). Congratulations to our staff from last year, in particular, editors Emily Baumann, Beth Capper and Robyn Coffey, and art director Aaron Hoffman.

The Pacemaker Award is the most coveted award for overall excellence in college newspapers. You can view the other winners and finalists here.

The award came with a plaque reproducing the cover of our October 2008 issue, designed by our art director Elliott Beazley.

The homepage will be featured in a forthcoming newspaper editing textbook, Creative Editing by Dorothy Bowles. Some of the award-winning pages from our print edition were reproduced in Darryl Moen’s Newspaper Layout and Design: A Team Approach.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

5 + 6 =