Associated Collegiate Press

Pacemaker Award
2012, 2011, 2010, 2009, 2008, 2006, 2003, 1999, 1998, 1993

Student Society for News Design 2012

Overall design of a newspaper
First Place: F Newsmagazine

Designer of the Year
Second Place: Alli Berry
Honorable Mention: Joe Carpentar, Patrick M. Jenkins

Special Section
First Place: Eric Baskauskas, “–liner”
Honorable Mention: Alli Berry, “Endless Summer”

Information Graphic
Honorable Mention: Quinn Keaveney, “A Year at SAIC”

First Place: Joe Carpenter, “The Happy Housekeeper”
Third Place: Joe Carpenter, “Connect the Dots”

Front Page Tabloid
Second Place: Alli Berry, “Now is the Winter of our Discontent”

Newspaper Page Design
First Place: Emily Haasch, “You Will Pay”
Third Place: Joe Carpenter, “Interning or Indentured”
Honorable Mention: Alli Berry, “Taking Over the Streets”

2011 Illinois College Press Association

General Excellence
Second Place: F Newsmagazine

In-Depth Reporting
First Place:Ania Szremski, “Getting Paid: Chicago art critics talk money”

Multimedia Reporting
First Plave: Nick Briz, “F Studio Visits: Kyle Evans”

Special Supplement
Second Place: Eric Baskauskas, “-liner”

Feature Story
Third Place: Annette Elliot, “A Flower Between the Cracks: Third Place”

Feature Page Design
Third Place: Alli Berry, “Chicago Psychics”

Front Page Layout
Honorable Mention: Eric Baskauskas, Sungwoo Suh, Alli Berry, February 2011, March 2011, April 2011

Multimedia Reporting
Third Place: Dijana Kadic and Chelsey Hoff, “Men at Work”

Feature Story
Honorable Mention: Brandon Kosters, “Erotic Therapy: Chicago Dominatrices”

In-House Promotional Ad
Second Place: Joe Carpenter, “Are Words Your Thing?” (crossword puzzle)

Graphic Illustration
Honorable Mention: Eric Baskauskas, “An Artpocalypse?”

Advertisements Less Than Full Page
Honorable Mention: Eric Baskauskas, Exchequer Pub ad.

2011 ACP Pacemaker Awards

Four-year Non-daily Newspaper
Finalist: F Newsmagazine

Environmental Portrait
Honorable Mention: Alli Berry

2010 Student Society for News Design Awards

F Newsmagazine won awards from the Student Society for News Design, including Second Place for Best Overall Design and Second Place for Best Overall College News Web Site, in a category in which we were competing with websites of daily newspapers throughout the country.

Overall design of a newspaper
Second Place: F Newsmagazine

Best overall college news Web site
Second Place: F Newsmagazine

Newspaper front page design for a newspaper published three times a week or less.
First Place: Cody Petruk, “Why Design?”
Honorable Mention: Javier Lopez, “Literacy Issue”

Features page design
Second Place: Silas Reeves, “A manual for relief”

Honorable Mention: Olivia Liendo, “Peevee the Freelancer”

Information graphics
Javier Lopez, “Big bucks in the Big 10″, “A manual for relief”

2010 Illinois College Press Association Awards

Feature Page Design
First Place: Olivia Liendo, “Design Heroes”
“Hands down winner. This presentation is clean, crisp and inviting. It would do proud thevery designers to whom this lovely package pays homage. Marvelous work!”
―Judge: John Plevka, Managing Editor, Journal Star (Peoria)

Full Page Advertisement

First Place: Silas Reeves (design) and Nidhi Isaac (photo), “Chicago’s New Literary Community”
“One of the coolest ads I have ever seen, in any contest. Awesome!”
―Judge: Jeff Holman, Illinois Press Association.

First Place: David Essman, “Due to budget cuts, we could not publish David Essman’s comic. Please enjoy these ads in its place.” (David filled ½ page with satirical ads.)
“Funny yet pointed. Wonderful layout and bold use of black and white. Outstanding.”
―Judge: Chris Britt, The State Journal-Register.

Photo Essay

Second Place: Jennifer Mosier, “Keeping your Money Safe”

Feature Page Design

Third Place: Elliott Beazley, “The Modern Wing”
“Sophisticated, user-friendly presentation. Gorgeous stuff. Hard to stop looking at this one.”
―Judge: John Plevka, Managing Editor, Journal Star (Peoria).

Multimedia Reporting

Second Place: Quintin Roper, Casilda Sanchez, “Fashion Focus ’09″
Judge: Ryan Denham, online news editor, Pantagraph.

Online Publication

Honorable Mentions: Natalie Edwards, Brook Jonquil, and Casilda Sanchez

Critical Review

Second Place: Natalie Edwards

Graphic Illustration

Honorable Mention: Elliott Beazley and Mike Gibisser, “The Possibility of its Loss”
“Lots of information, glad to have the graphic.”
―Judge: Matt Schury, reporter, Kendall County Record.

Special Supplement

Third Place: Beth Capper, Emily Bauman, and Aaron Hoffman, “Taxing”
Judge: Lynn Saputo, Graphic Designer, Illinois Press Association.
Third Place: Beth Capper, Emily Bauman, and Aaron Hoffman, “The Moving Image”

Editorial Cartoon

Second Place: Alexandra Westrich, “Surgeons or Saboteurs?”
“Wonderful visual. Well-crafted. Full of rich detail.”
―Judge: Chris Britt, The State Journal-Register.

Student Society of News Design 2008 Design Contest

F Newsmagazine was awarded Best in Overall Design by the Student Society of News Design in its 2008 design contest, as well as a number of other awards for our designers; Mary Louise Killen was our art director. The Student Society for News Design is affiliated with the professional organization for newspaper designers and illustrators, the Society for News Design.

In recent years, F Newsmagazine has won the Pacemaker Award and On-Line Pacemaker Award from the Associated Collegiate Press and Newspaper Asssociation of America, as well as Silver and Gold Crown awards from the Columbia Scholastic Press Association and Best Website from the Illinois College Press Association.

F Newsmagazine won the most awards in the non-daily newspaper category. Aaron Hoffman, our art director, was named Second Place Designer of the Year. Here are our other winners:

Features: One page or spread

First Place: Basor Guyukkusoglu, “Art of Excess”
Third Place: Aaron Hoffman, “Four Models”

Honorable Mentions
Lin Tan, “Front Lines”
Aaron Straus, “E for all”
Mary Louise Killen, “The Art of War”

Photos: One page or spread

First Place: Javier Lopez, “Ecuador”
First Place: Brigitte, “Ink”

Magazine spread design

Second Place: Aaron Hoffman, “Feeling Local”
Third Place: Javier Lopez and Aaron Hoffman, “Waiting for Godot in New Orleans”

Magazine or special section cover

First Place: Eric, “Politics and art”
Second Place: Aaron Straus, Amand Sukenick, “Disorientation”

Information Graphics

First Place: Javier Lopez, “Helvetica”
Second Place: Elliott Beazley, “Vandalize this!”


First Place: Eric Garcia, “Art < Politics”
Third Place: Maria Squeri, “Feeling Local”

Honorable Mentions
Alexandra Westrich
Eric Garcia (“El Machete”)

Online Newspapers, Other Online Presentation

First Place: Lin Tan/Jason Conny/Joe Post, Designers
Fifth Place: Eric Garcia, Editorial Illustration

Newspapers, Photo page/Spread:

Second Place: Javier Lopez, Designer

Magazines, Cover:

Third Place: Basar Buyukkusogly, Designer
Fifth Place: Eric Garcia, Designer

Associated Collegiate Press, 2008

Pacemaker Award: Monica LaBelle and Jesse Stein, Editors.

Scripps Howard National Journalism Award, 2007

Charles Schulz College Cartooning Award, Second Place, Lucy Knisely

Scripps Howard National Journalism Award, 2006

Charles Schulz College Cartooning Award, First Place, Russell Gottwaldt