Search F News...

All this Jazz

By Uncategorized

by Brandon Kosters

Whether you’re into the more conventional Ellington/Basie standards kind of stuff, or bebop, or fusion, or the free-form dissonant Sun Ra kind of stuff, you’re obviously very lucky to live in a city like Chicago, where there’s more jazz than you can possibly take in.

Take in as much as you can this week.

I caught the Rova Saxophone Quartet at the Chicago Cultural Center tonight. SAIC instructor/sound artist Lou Mallozi joined them onstage. Not exactly anything you’d tap your toes to, but stimulating nevertheless. You can catch them Wednesday March 17th at the Hideout (1354 West Wabansia Avenue, Chicago, IL 60642-1519). Their set starts at 9:30 p.m.

Also happening this week is the Chi-Town Jazz Festival.

Here’s a listing of what’s happening there:

Tuesday / March 16th / 8 PM to 11 PM
minimum donation required: $12 tickets in advance, $15 at
concert, $20 for reserved table
Don Stiernberg Quartet www.donstiernberg.com
Kick the Cat www.kickthecatmusic.com
EVANSTON SPACE; 1245 Chicago Ave; Evanston, IL; 847 492 8860 www.evanstonspace.com
Wednesday / March 17th / 8 PM to Midnight
minimum donation required: $15
Ryan Cohan Quartet (with Geof Bradfield) www.ryancohan.com
Corey Wilkes Quartet
Chicago Afro Latin Jazz Ensemble with Victor Garcia & Darwin Noguera www.calje.org
JAZZ SHOWCASE; 806 S. Plymouth Ct; Chicago, IL; 312 360 0234 www.jazzshowcase.com

Thursday / March 18th / 5:30 PM to Midnight
minimum donation required: $10
Rich Corpolongo Group www.richardcorpolongo.com
Jim Trompeter Trio www.jimtrompeter.com
Bobby Lewis Quartet (Jeremy Kahn, Stew Miller, Mike Raynor) www.bobbylewis.com
Ron Perrillo Quartet(Scott Burns, Dennis Carroll,
Greg Artry) www.ronperrillo.com
ANDY’S JAZZ CLUB; 11 E. Hubbard St; Chicago, IL; 312 642 6805 www.andysjazzclub.com

Friday / March 19th / 9 PM to 1 AM
minimum donation required: $12
Josh Moshier Mike Lebrun Quintet (John Moulder, John Deitemyer, John Tate)www.mikelebrun.com
Grazyna Auguscik Quintet(John McLean, Rob Clearfield, Matt Ulery, John Deitemyer)www.grazynaauguscik.com
The Skinny (with Kyle Asche)
THE GREEN MILL; 4802 N. Broadway; Chicago, IL; 773 878 5552 www.greenmilljazz.com

Friday / March 18th / 8 PM
requested donation: $25 for season tickets drawing
Jazz at Lincoln Center Orchestra with
Wynton Marsalis www.wyntonmarsalis.org
SYMPHONY CENTER; 220 S. Michigan; Chicago, IL; 312 294 3000 www.cso.org

Saturday / March 20th / 9PM to Midnight
minimum donation required: $15
Marbin (Dani Rabin & Danny Marcovich) www.myspace.com/marbinmusic
John Moulder Quintet www.johnmoulder.com
Paul Wertico’s Mid East Mid West Alliance www.paulwertico.com
FITZGERALD’S; 6615 Roosevelt Rd; Berwyn, IL; 708 788 2118 www.fitzgeraldsnightclub.com

Sunday / March 21st / 4 PM
Tickets: $25 with a $5 minimum donation requested
Chevere www.cheveredechicago.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

10 − 1 =